7M+ Satisfied Customers
Astrology Services
From The House Of Astrologer Bejan Daruwalla

What Is The Difference Between Chaitra And Shardiya Navratri?

What Is The Difference Between Chaitra And Shardiya Navratri?

There are two different Navratris. Even though in both the form mother's power is worshipped, the importance is different. We all know that two Navratris are celebrated in a year. Beginning of one year i.e. in the month of Chaitra which is called Chaitra Navratri and the second Sharadiya Navratri. Sharadiya Navaratri is known as Durga Puja in Bengal. Chaitra Navratri is also called Hindu New Year because it starts at this time. The second Navratri falls in the month of Ashwin, which is also known as Sharadiya Navratri. Navratri festival also comes in the month of Paush and Ashadh, which is called Gupta Navratri, but Tantra Sadhna is done in that Navratri.

What Is Chaitra Navratri

It is celebrated in the middle of the Shukla Paksha of Chaitra. It is mostly celebrated by the people of northern India and western India. It is said that this festival takes place at the beginning of the Hindu New Year. Marathi people call it 'Gudi Padwa', whereas Kashmiri Hindus celebrate it as Navroz. Not only this, Hindus in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and Karnataka celebrate it with the name 'Ugadi'. Whereas some people call it Chhoti Navratri, this nine-day long festival is also called 'Ramanavami' by most people, which ends on the day of 'Ramanavami', the birthday of Lord Rama. Makes people strong and fulfills spiritual desires. 

What Is Sharadiya Navratri

Sharadiya Navratri is called Mahanavratri. It is said that it is also a big Navratri. The Pratipada date of Ashwin Shukla Paksha is celebrated as Durga Puja all over India. This festival is celebrated with great pomp in the northern and western regions. This Navratri is dedicated to the nine forms of Goddess Durga's power, Durga, Bhadrakali, Jagdamba, Annapurna, Sarvamangala, Bhairavi, Chandika, Kalita, Bhavani, Mookambika. It is believed that after fighting for nine days, Goddess Durga killed the demon Mahishasura, and since then this Navratri is celebrated. Another story of Sharad Navratri is told that Lord Rama worshiped all the nine forms of Goddess Durga to defeat Ravana. After that, on the tenth day, Lord Rama killed Ravana, because of which Vijayadashami is celebrated.

Difference Between Chaitra And Sharadiya Navratri

  • During Chaitra Navratri, there is the importance of tough meditation and tough fasting, while during Sharadiya Navratri, Satvik Sadhana, dance, celebration, etc. are organized. This day is considered to be the day of worship of Mother Shakti. The importance of Chaitra Navratri is more in Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and Karnataka, while the importance of Sharadiya Navratri is more in Gujarat and West Bengal. During Sharadiya Navratri, the Durga Puja festival is celebrated in Bengal as a form of worship of Shakti. On the other hand, Garba, etc. is organized in Gujarat.

  • Ram Navami comes at the end of Chaitra Navratri. Shri Ram was born on the day of Ram Navami. While the last day of Sharadiya Navratri is celebrated as Mahanavami. The next day is the Vijay Dashami festival. On the day of Vijay Dashami, Mother Durga killed Mahishasura and Lord Shri Ram killed Ravana. That's why Sharadiya Navratri is purely considered the day of worship of Shakti.

  • It is believed that the practice of Chaitra Navratri makes you mentally strong and fulfills your spiritual desires. On the other hand, Sharadiya Navratri is considered to fulfill worldly desires.


The festival of Navratri comes twice every year for the people of India. The first one falls in the month of Chaitra, while the second Navratri falls in the month of Ashwin. The new year for Hindus begins with the Navratri of Chaitra. Which we all know by the name of Chaitra Navratri. The same Navratri in the month of Ashwin is known as Sharadiya Navratri. The same Navratri festival comes in the month of Paush and Ashadh. Which is called Gupta Navratri, but Tantra Sadhana is done in that Navratri, only Chaitra and Sharadiya Navratri are considered best for householders and family members. In both, all the forms of Matarani are worshipped. So, today all of you consult astrology to know more about the difference between Chaitra and Sharadiya Navratri.

Next Post
Ram Navami Significance
Ram Navami Significance
Read more
Amalaki Ekadashi Importance, Story, Rituals, And Fasting
Amalaki Ekadashi Importance, Story, Rituals, An...
Read more
Phulera Dooj: When is Phulera Dooj, Know the Date and Importance
Phulera Dooj: When is Phulera Dooj, Know the Da...
Read more